This is the worst thing that has ever happened to anyone, anywhere.

Over the last week or so, I jotted down a few notes for a post to sum up the trip. Best scenery, weirdest roadside attraction, most delicious burrito, etc. Among these odds and ends was the fact that over the course of the whole trip, during which I rarely spent two nights in a row in the same place, the only thing I lost was an old tee-shirt. HUBRIS.

Then I came back to New York and lost my computer. Including all my photos from the trip. Yes, it’s really gone. No, it’s not going to “turn up.” I left it on a crowded city bus, and this is New York City, not Kindly Podunkville. By the way, I was in Kindly Podunkville just a few weeks ago, but I now have no way of proving that. You’ll have to take my word for it. (UPDATE! THRILLING UPDATE!)

While I may have lost my sanity, an expensive piece of electronic equipment and the complete photographic record of the most important journey of my life, I have not lost the will to sum up this trip for you. After the jump, I make do.

Here I am in front of the Nashville Parthenon.

Here I am in front of the Nashville Parthenon.

Here I am with the second-largest cross in the Western hemisphere.

Here I am with the second-largest cross in the Western hemisphere.

Here I am with some friends at Cadillac Ranch in Amarillo, TX. That awesome Japanese tee-shirt is the one I would later leave behind in a Motel room.

Here I am with my totally normal group of friends at Cadillac Ranch in Amarillo, TX. That awesome Japanese tee-shirt is the one I would later leave behind in a motel room.

Here's my brother Chris and I in front of Big Brutus, a huge retired coal shovel in Kansas.

My brother Chris and I in front of Big Brutus, a huge retired coal shovel in Kansas.

Here's the kids and me grilling up some hot dogs outside our yurt in Oregon.

The kids and me grilling up some hot dogs outside our yurt in Oregon.

Here's Kevin and me at Glacier National Park.

Here I am with Kevin at Glacier National Park.

Here I am in a moment of somber reflection at the Little Bighorn battlefield.

Here I am in a moment of somber reflection at the Little Bighorn battlefield.

Here I am having some fun at Wall Drug. What can I say, I'm just a big goofball at heart!

Here I am having some fun at Wall Drug. What can I say, I'm just a big goofball at heart!

Here I am visiting Mount Rushmore at night.

Here I am visiting Mount Rushmore at night.

And here's the whole gang outside Polly's Pancake Parlor, the one place I wish I could be right this very minute.

And here's the whole gang outside Polly's Pancake Parlor, the one place I wish I could be right this very minute.

6 responses to “This is the worst thing that has ever happened to anyone, anywhere.

  1. Wait, that’s not you. That’s Obama!

  2. “This is New York City, not Kindly Podunkville” — the real Amerikkka is looking pretty good right now.

  3. I laughed so hard I cried at this. And then I cried for your computer. No. Not really, but the first part is true.

  4. Tears. Rolling. Down. Face.
    Funny. Funny.
    Sad. Sad.
    Is this haiku?

  5. Pingback: This is the best thing that has ever happened to anyone, anywhere. « Public Road

  6. I’m glad you momentarily lost your laptop so that you do this one.

Leave a Reply

