A surprise

A blurry photo of my dad blowing out his candles.

A blurry photo of my dad blowing out his candles.

Well, I lied, but it was for a good cause. I did not go to the Upper Peninsula of Michigan last Friday. Instead I drove down through Wisconsin to surprise my dad at his 60th birthday party on Saturday. My sister flew in from Richmond, and we showed up on his doorstep totally unannounced. It was great.

I spent the weekend hanging out in Illinois, sleeping in my own bed, playing cribbage with my mom, enjoying my dad’s new outdoor firepit, etc. In a few minutes I will hit the road again to drive north through Michigan.

Since it’s been a few days since I posted, I feel I owe you, my loyal reader, a special treat. After the jump, a photo of my favorite kid.

It's Anna!

It's Anna!

This is my niece, my favorite almost-3-year-old. She looks a little downcast because I just broke the news to her about the new Winnie-the-Pooh book, and she’s concerned it won’t do justice to Milne’s masterpieces. “Don’t worry,” I said. “It may not exactly live up to the originals, but it will only serve to renew interest in them. Anyway, the Hundred Acre Wood has already been pretty well desecrated by Disney’s relentless merchandising, so it’s a little late to cry foul.” This cheered her up:

IMG_4830

2 responses to “A surprise

  1. A new Winne the Pooh book? That is highly suspicious. I’m all about renewed interest in my favorite childhood books but this is just wrong.

  2. It’s Anna!

Leave a Reply

