Where I’ve been so far, part deux

An updated update of my route so far, plus a bunch of photos that haven’t found their way into posts. The map so far:

IMG_4340

After Leadville/Twin Lakes, CO, the route includes stops in Glenwood Springs, CO; Salt Lake City; several Utah national parks; Las Vegas; Los Angeles; San Francisco; Portland, OR; Seattle; Spokane; Coeur d’Alene, ID, and, as of this evening, Kalispell, MT. After the jump, some photos from along the way.

Doesn't this mountain man statue (in the John Wesley Powell River History Museum in Green River, Utah) look like Robin Williams? I think so.

Doesn't this mountain man statue (in the John Wesley Powell River History Museum in Green River, Utah) look like Robin Williams? I think so.

Statue in Provo, UT, that it would be easy to make jokes about, but is actually kind of lovely.

Statue in Provo, UT, that it would be easy to make jokes about, but is actually kind of lovely.

Only 35% of missionaries who went out last year shopped at the Beatles.

I wonder how big the market for inflatable Mormon missionaries is.

Wading in the Great Salt Lake.

Wading in the Great Salt Lake.

This is the Angel Moroni, who directed Joseph Smith to the golden plates upon which were printed the Book of Mormon. Then the angel took them back for safekeeping.

This is the Angel Moroni, who directed Joseph Smith to the golden plates upon which were printed the Book of Mormon. Then the angel took them back for safekeeping.

Outside the full-length feature film about Joseph Smith, there were tissue boxes everywhere, just in case.

Outside the full-length feature film about Joseph Smith, there were tissue boxes everywhere, just in case.

Payson City, UT, was celebrating Onion Days. When we ordered dinner at this burger shack, we also received enormous onions.

Payson City, UT, was celebrating Onion Days. When we ordered dinner at this burger shack, we also received enormous onions.

Something Brooks likes to do on a hike is dash off to scale any steep surface he sees along the trail. I don't share this passino.

Something Brooks likes to do on a hike is dash off to scale any steep surface he sees along the trail. I don't share this passion.

Beauty at Arches National Park.

Beauty at Arches National Park.

At Escalante (still in Utah), we hiked to a waterfall.

At Escalante (still in Utah), we hiked to a waterfall.

In LA, I had dinner across the street from the parking lot where Robert Blake did not shoot his wife in 2001.

In LA, I had dinner across the street from the parking lot where Robert Blake did not shoot his wife in 2001.

In LA, I stayed with my college friend John, who lives in Toluca Lake. Thanks, John!

In LA, I stayed with my college friend John, who lives in Toluca Lake. Thanks, John!

I made it to the Pacific!

I made it to the Pacific!

Soapbox time! These bumper stickers read: "Restore Families: YES on 8" "King Kong is not my grandpa"; "Don't blame me; I voted for Jack [from Jack in the Box]" "Love the sinner, hate the SIN" and "Jesus Rocks." I would not have thought one car could sum up everything I hate about American Christianity, but hey, this trip is all about discovery.

Soapbox time! These bumper stickers read: "Restore Families: YES on 8" "King Kong is not my grandpa"; "Don't blame me; I voted for Jack" (from Jack in the Box); "Love the sinner, hate the SIN"; and "Jesus Rocks." I would not have thought one car could sum up everything I loathe about some elements of American Christianity, but hey, this trip is all about discovery.

This is the world's largest garlic braid.

This is the world's largest garlic braid.

Yes, please.

Yes, please.

At Pittock Mansion in Portland, I briefly turned into a ghost.

At Pittock Mansion in Portland, I briefly turned into a ghost.

HELLO I AM IN A CHEESE FACTORY.

HELLO I AM IN A CHEESE FACTORY.

Emily and I ate a smoked-fish pizza. Yum.

Emily and I ate a smoked-fish pizza. Yum.

The next day, we went to a lighthouse on the Oregon coast with a great view.

The next day, we went to a lighthouse on the Oregon coast with a great view.

Lighthouse!

Lighthouse!

One last look at the Pacific.

One last look at the Pacific.

A surprise trip to Snoqualmie Falls.

And a surprise trip to Snoqualmie Falls.

4 responses to “Where I’ve been so far, part deux

  1. This is amazing. I want to be you when I grow up.

  2. As I sit in my windowless school-room, these pictures are a marvelous breath of fresh air. Thanks, Ruth!

  3. Sorry to double-comment, but your readers should know that Glacier National Park is where your mom and I first knew you, by about age 3 (?), had a way with words when, as we were walking on a dark campground road one night, you spied the white crescent of a new moon and said with wonder, “Oh, look it’s a tiny slipper of a moon!”
    And here you are, full circle.
    BTW, you just missed tiny slipperdom this month: the 19th and 20th of Sept.

  4. Pingback: Where I’ve been, part 3. « Public Road

Leave a Reply

