Motel 6 Carpinteria South is the finest Motel 6 in the world.

I can say that because I have stayed at a LOT of Motels 6 in the last month or so. I genuinely adore cheap, reliable Motel 6, but here’s some tough love: They have some of the ugliest rooms around. And who cares? They’re cheap and reliable and they have beds, doors, and soap. Fine with me.

But check THIS out:

I feel like the queen of England!

I feel like the queen of England!

If you paid $200 for this room, you might note critically that it looks like a Midwestern boutique hotel circa 1998, and the materials aren’t exactly the finest. But if you are paying $55 for it, and it’s located 10 minutes outside of uber-expensive Santa Barbara, you would charitably note the following: a tastefully embroidered bedspread, a nice knockoff Arne Jacobsen chair, and a color scheme that looks like some thought was put into it. Don’t judge me, former Domino colleagues, but I think this room is really not too shabby.

How cute is that towel-holder thingy?

How cute is that towel-holder thingy? And a basin sink!

Update, 9/11/09. For (hideous) comparison, here’s tonight’s Motel 6 room, in Salinas CA:

Blech.

Blech.

2 responses to “Motel 6 Carpinteria South is the finest Motel 6 in the world.

  1. I wasn’t that impressed until I saw the comparison.

  2. Pingback: Motel 6 steps it up. « Public Road

Leave a Reply

