Forget Archie. Archie is dead to us now.

Welcome, readers of the the New York Times Diner’s Journal, New York magazine’s Grub Street, and Eater! You’ve found yourself here because you’re interested in Archie, and I am, too. Believe me, I really am. But the rest of this blog is primarily a document of the road trip I’m taking across the country and back right now. (I wrote about Archie in Glenwood Springs, CO, and I’m writing these words in Green River, UT.) Here’s a bit of background on why I’m taking the trip, and here are some previous dispatches that you may enjoy:

In Carthage, MO, I visited “America’s Sistine Chapel,” a glorious monument to Precious Moments figurines. 

In Nashville, I poked around the recently excavated grave of the man Andrew Jackson killed in a duel.

In Leadville, CO, I investigated the wildest love triangle in the Old West.

This Precious Moments figurine will shed a single tear if you don't read on.

This Precious Moments figurine will shed a single tear if you don't check back often.

I hope you’ll follow me as I travel west to California, up the coast, and then back to New York City. Thanks for reading!

2 responses to “Forget Archie. Archie is dead to us now.

  1. This post isn’t about Archie. I’m confused. I was expecting more Archie posts. Are you going to write more about Archie?

  2. Well, she said it wasn’t about Archie, yet she wrote a lot about Archie. Surely there will be more about Archie.

Leave a Reply

