Is this heaven? No, it’s Indiana.

I confirm this breakfast by a vote of 68-31.  

I confirmed this breakfast by a vote of 68-31.

After a few truly lovely days in South Bend, including the Tuesday morning breakfast above, I arrived this afternoon in my hometown of Wheaton, IL. My Indiana host, Joel, is one of my best and oldest friends. He’s also an excellent host: he supplied me with spicy foods, took me swimming, and yesterday night brought me to a house in which I was asked to read the last chapter of “Little House on the Prairie” to a 4-year-old girl who promptly announced that she loved me very much.  

After the jump, a few photos from South Bend.

With Joel at Notre Dame

With Joel at Notre Dame on Tuesday.

The Dome, from within

The Dome, from within

We swam in a lake next to a power plant.

We swam in a lake next to a power plant.

Another day, another body of water to dunk myself in. (This one's Lake Michigan, in the town of New Buffalo.)

Another day (yesterday), another body of water in which to dunk myself (Lake Michigan).

Sand is good.

It was a beautiful day.

At Le Peep this morning, I enjoyed a trademarked (?!) menu item called "The Desperado," which involved ground beef, chilis, eggs, and potatoes.

At Le Peep this morning, I enjoyed a trademarked (?!) menu item called "The Desperado," which involved ground beef, chilis, eggs, and potatoes.

One response to “Is this heaven? No, it’s Indiana.

  1. The Desperado sounds like it was made for people who eat like champions. I’ve been enjoying your tales from the road. Call me if you have time before you leave Wheaton!

Leave a Reply

