I am the Gwyneth Paltrow of the homeless

On the day before I left, I landed in the emergency room for a few hours. (I am fine.) I had already moved out of my apartment, and was staying for the weekend at a summer rental cabin that had no formal address. When I was admitted, I was asked my home address, local address, and employer — and I had none of those.  

However, if I have learned anything in these first few days on the road, it is this: if you have people to feed you, shelter you, give you a hot shower, and chat with you, being homeless and jobless is really not so bad! Oh, you should also have a brand-new rental car filled with everything you might need to live for several months. I encourage you to pass this wisdom on to a homeless person you know. I like to think of this site as a sort of GOOP for the needy.

 

Here are a few photos of the hospitable people I have visited so far:

With my cousin Andy and his wife Allison's adorable girls in PIttsburgh.

With my cousin Andy and his wife Allison's adorable girls in Pittsburgh.

Last night, we headed to the South Bend branch of our old favorite, Famous Dave's Barbecue.

My next stop was South Bend, IN, to visit my friend Joel. After a day of strolling and swimming, we headed to the South Bend branch of our old favorite, Famous Dave's Barbecue.

Joel carefully examined all the sauces.

Joel carefully examined all the sauces.

The original Rich & Sassy looks pretty good...

The original Rich & Sassy looks pretty good...

...but so does Devil's Spit. What to do?

...but so does Devil's Spit. What to do?

The only solution.

The only solution.

After that, Joel, his friend Maryam, and I split a garbage-pail lid of barbecue, and went to see the movie “Funny People,” which I highly recommend. I laughed and I cried and I continued to be really, really in awe of Judd Apatow.

9 responses to “I am the Gwyneth Paltrow of the homeless

  1. Awesome Ruth! bon voyage! Road trips are the best. How bout an entry about what music you brought or discover…

  2. Remember that 2-hour radio interview of Martin Short we listened to when I lasted visited? The guy who hosted that interview delivered a pointed and disgusted rant against Goop on his radio program this week. He noted that Paltrow recommended traveling to Paris. “Paris?” he asked, “is that with one R or two?”

  3. Hi love! I have arranged housing for you in Oakland, CA whenever you are in those parts, should you so desire.

    Minor request: can you let us know via twitter where you are, precisely? I am oddly unsettled by not knowing if you are in Chicago/Naperville/Wheaton at the moment.

    PS I’m amused that your captions of Joel and his facebook captions are nearly identical.

  4. I hear that Gwyneth recommends an under-the-radar musician named William Joel. Perhaps you should pick up some of his tunes for your trip.

  5. Oh how i miss you!!! i love this!!

  6. Sounds like a neat adventure that you have embarked on! I live near South Bend and have been to that same Famous Dave’s a few times. We are baffled by the sauce too! But they have the best BBQ!

  7. @Alyce- “That Guy” come on- it’s time we expect that Tom Scharpling is a household name!

  8. I don’t know how to tell you this, but… the Famous Dave’s in Naperville is closing in October.
    Better get back here FAST!

  9. @Andrew- For as much as I want that to be true, I’m taking it slow on the World Domination Scheme. But I’m happy to know that at least one other person in the world follows both the Best Show and Ruth’s blog.

Leave a Reply

