The highwayman

I conceived this trip while driving to Pittsburgh to attend a cousin’s wedding. I rented a red Corolla and headed out on Friday night, stopping for the night at a motel in Breezewood, PA, a location I chose because I passed the sign on the turnpike just as “Delilah” was ending, and who wants to keep driving without “Delilah”? At some point that weekend, I realized I’d much rather keep driving west than come back to Brooklyn. 

But I’m not some hippie who can just drop everything — I have a temporary job, you know, and many refrigerated condiments that would go to waste if I just disappeared. So the trip would have to wait a few months. In the meantime, my friend Steph bought me a copy of “Blue Highways,” William Least Heat-Moon’s 1982 bestseller about his somewhat circuitous loop of a solo road trip around the U.S. several years earlier. The book is long and earnest and shaggy, and it helped push me toward a trip with those same qualities.

Moon begins at home in Columbia, Missouri, where he’s running away from a failing marriage, an aimless career and general ennui. Setting out to avoid interstates and cities, and stick to side and small towns, he winds east to the coast, then takes a shaggy route south, west, north, and east, returning home in the end to become (eventually) a successful travel writer. His route is mostly arbitrary; he detours to see towns with names like Nameless, Dime Box, and Liberty Bond, chatting up whoever he meets.

Moon was a lot more hardcore than I am. His trip was about 13,000 miles; mine will be around 8,000. He took three months; mine will likely be a week or two shy of that. He slept in a home-customized van; I’ll drive a late-model rental car and sleep mostly in cheap motels. What’s more, Moon appears to have not even had a car radio, let alone an iPhone and all its attendant distractions. He really did it alone.

Despite our differences in badassedness, I still fancy myself to be striking out with a similar aim, and, I hope, similar lessons and pleasures along the way. Take his description of shuttling across Montana: “The uncluttered stretches of the American West and deserted miles of roads force a lone traveler to pay attention to them by leaving his isolated in them. This squander of land substitutes a sense of self with a sense of place by giving him days of himself until, tiring of his own small compass, he looks for relief to the bigness outside.” Fingers crossed.

"Blue" Moon

"Blue" Moon

 

One response to “The highwayman

  1. THIS CERTAINLY SEEMS LIKE A PROMISING BLOG.

Leave a Reply

