Martha Stewart and I are both VERY Martha Stewart

Travel tip: Always bring enough lemons to share with the whole plane!

I have written before about the nutso US Weekly feature “25 Things You Don’t Know About Me.” This week, the magazine features Martha Stewart. Obviously “Martha Stewart is a perfectionist” jokes are old and plentiful, but they’re funny because they’re true! Here are some tidbits she shared with the magazine:

When I travel, I like to bring my own fresh lemons, just in case they don’t have them on the plane.

I tend to keep a light on near my bed when I sleep (about four hours a night) so I can write notes or do work when I wake up.

When I first wake up, before the sun rises, I say hello to all the animals on my farm.

I have over 2,040,000 Twitter followers.

I do yoga every day for an hour.

Let’s review: Martha Stewart brings her own fresh lemons onto planes, sleeps with a light on for four hours a night, personally greets many animals every morning before dawn, has millions of fans, and does a full hour of yoga every day. What a woman!

But the really remarkable thing about the list is how similar my life is to Martha’s. In fact, it’s almost weird that we haven’t become best friends yet.

When I travel, I like to bring my own contact solution, but I usually forget to.

I tend to turn off all the lights near my bed when I sleep (about 8 hours a night) so I can actually rest like a normal person, though often my laptop is next to me in bed because I’ve been watching old episodes of “The League” before passing out.

When I first wake up, long after the sun rises, I say “Thank god I don’t have any animals to take care of, because, ugh.”

I have over 200 Twitter followers.

I do yoga every year for almost an hour.

Call me, Martha!

3 responses to “Martha Stewart and I are both VERY Martha Stewart

  1. I’m so glad you brought these glaring similarities to light! When I read Martha’s sleeping habits, I immediately wanted to scold her. I just wrote a handout for my patients/families on promoting better sleep habits and you are absolutely not supposed to have any light on in the bedroom. No wonder she only sleeps 4 hours!

  2. Leaving the light on is so much more efficient. I know how much I hate having to lean over to turn it “on”. (And if that’s not painful enough, then “off” later on.) Thank you, Martha, for the idea; just one more reason why you’re so indispensable.

  3. Pingback: Filately Korner | Public Road

Leave a Reply

