Top 5 weirdest things I learned about country music superstar Blake Shelton in Us Weekly

I'm country music superstar Blake Shelton. I'm interested to know how quaaludes would make me feel, and I also mentioned that to a national magazine.

Us Weekly has a feature called “25 Things You Don’t Know About Me,” which was inspired by that Facebook meme from last year and is now just an excuse for B-list celebrities to free-associate fascinating facts about themselves. I LOVE IT. It should be boring, but it’s often completely bizarre and wonderful. This week’s was particularly awesome. Here are 5 of 25 things that Blake Shelton, a person I previously didn’t care about at all but now kind of adore, decided to tell the nearly 2 million readers of Us Weekly:

1. I often find myself wondering, What kind of tree is that? [That is such a weird thing to say!]

2. I don’t have a birthmark. [Not a single spot anywhere on your body? This is also definitely a weird thing to say!]

3. Something about the way Play-Doh smells makes me want to eat it. [Odd.]

4. I once accidentally burned 300 acres of my own land. [How did that happen?! I have a lot of questions about this!]

5. I have had three pet raccoons. [Again: So, so many questions!]

What a delightful weirdo! Whoever edits this feature for Us Weekly is doing a spectacular job, and I mean that from the bottom of my heart, because I am sure these are really hard to make interesting. But they are not just interesting, they are strange. Justin Bieber has two Segways! Big Boi has a son named Bamboo and a dog named Halle Berry! Melissa Joan Hart was born was two stomachs! STARS ARE SERIOUSLY NOT LIKE US AT ALL.

25 Things You Don’t Know About Me: Blake Shelton

4 responses to “Top 5 weirdest things I learned about country music superstar Blake Shelton in Us Weekly

  1. I can’t speak to the raccoons or birthmarks, but having spent a lot of time on a farm in Iowa, #4 doesn’t strike me as out of the ordinary.

    My grandparents have converted portions of their 300 acre farm into native prairie by leaving it unfarmed and pulling up all the invasive species. Long story. But anyway, prairies naturally burn on their own. It’s healthy for this to happen every couple years, so my family would go out and burn the prairie every so often. We would try to do this on non-windy days after a rainstorm to minimize the risk, but it’s easy for things to get out of hand. So I do sympathize with Blake.

    However, I would like to know more about his burn accident. I’m guessing he wasn’t restoring native prairie. But I bet burning your own land gives you tons of street cred in the country world.

  2. This comment was extremely insightful to me as a suburban/urban woman. Do you have any input on the question of “What kind of tree is that?”

  3. No, I don’t. But I do sometimes find myself wishing I knew more about trees. Especially since my grandparents’ farm is mostly a tree farm, and everyone else in my family is extremely knowledgeable about trees.

  4. He clearly didn’t take Miss Himmel’s science class or have a leaf collection. Those were the days…

Leave a Reply

